| Posted by: pikachu at November 18, 2006, 1:32 am | | Topic: Paradise taking US players again? Forum: Bonus Whores | Pokeraddict (BW Support) wrote: BigPoppa wrote: The Paradise cashier page had a way to transfer money to Sportsbook.com because they were part of the same company. So this isn't just a case of clever spam.
I read a little while ago that Paradise actually sold their US business for only $1 just to get rid of any legal liability, probably to iinsiders who will run it as a privately held company.
Sportsbook.com and Paradise were owned by Sportingbet. That is why you cpuld transfer like that. Sportingbet sold Sportsbook.com (not Paradise) for $1. Notice now there are no links to Sportsbook.com anymore but instead Sportingbet.com. Sportingbet still owns Paradise and Sportsbook.com is using the mail list they obtained for their $1. If you had a Paradise account you had a Sportsbook.com account too so that is why you are getting their emails.
It's funny that no matter how many times it is explained that Sportsbook.com and Paradise are owned by separate companies, peo... | | Read Entire Entry |
| Posted by: Pokeraddict at November 18, 2006, 1:03 am | | Topic: Paradise taking US players again? Forum: Bonus Whores | BigPoppa wrote: The Paradise cashier page had a way to transfer money to Sportsbook.com because they were part of the same company. So this isn't just a case of clever spam.
I read a little while ago that Paradise actually sold their US business for only $1 just to get rid of any legal liability, probably to iinsiders who will run it as a privately held company.
Sportsbook.com and Paradise were owned by Sportingbet. That is why you could transfer like that. Sportingbet sold Sportsbook.com (not Paradise) for $1. Notice now there are no links to Sportsbook.com anymore but instead Sportingbet.com. Sportingbet still owns Paradise and Sportsbook.com is using the mail list they obtained for their $1. If you had a Paradise account you had a Sportsbook.com account too so that is why you are getting their emails. | | Static Link |
| Posted by: BigPoppa at November 18, 2006, 12:00 am | | Topic: Paradise taking US players again? Forum: Bonus Whores | The Paradise cashier page had a way to transfer money to Sportsbook.com because they were part of the same company. So this isn't just a case of clever spam.
I read a little while ago that Paradise actually sold their US business for only $1 just to get rid of any legal liability, probably to iinsiders who will run it as a privately held company.
_________________
"I want those motherfuckin' snakes off this motherfuckin' plane!" | | Static Link |
| Posted by: Self Made at November 17, 2006, 2:23 pm | | Topic: Paradise taking US players again? Forum: Bonus Whores | Sportingbet sold its US sportsbetting ops, including Sportsbook.com, and kept Paradise.
Article re sale: http://www.casinocitytimes.com/news/article.cfm?contentID=161756
Article re purchase: http://biz.yahoo.com/prnews/061012/to230.html?.v=37
Sportsbook.com is negotiating with a poker software provider for a new network but declines to reveal which one at this time. | | Static Link |
| Posted by: Pokeraddict at November 17, 2006, 2:15 pm | | Topic: Paradise taking US players again? Forum: Bonus Whores | | I think Sportsbook.com got your email address from Paradise as part of the sale. An email from Sportsbook.com would have nothing to do with Paradise Poker now. They are owned by 2 different companies now. I think this was just clever spam to try and capitalize off of Paradise's name and get you thinking they are still the same company. | | Static Link |
| Posted by: BigPoppa at November 17, 2006, 1:18 pm | | Topic: Paradise taking US players again? Forum: Bonus Whores | They sold their US business, so I'm guessing that you'd be playing against other US customers and not against players from elsewhere.Not sure about that, though.
Anyone check to see if stacked bonuses were still there?
_________________
"I want those motherfuckin' snakes off this motherfuckin' plane!" | | Static Link |
| Posted by: Steve565 at November 17, 2006, 10:59 am | | Topic: Paradise taking US players again? Forum: Bonus Whores | Logged in, looks like they're taking sports bets now from US players, Sa this:
<< NOTICE: We are currently working on getting a new and improved poker platform in place and we will notify you as soon as it's available. | | Static Link |
| Posted by: Steve565 at November 17, 2006, 10:54 am | | Topic: Paradise taking US players again? Forum: Bonus Whores | Not sure if this means poker - sounds like it. Just got the following:
<<Dear Steve,
You used to access Sportsbook.com through Paradise. One click and suddenly you were playing at eGaming Review’s “Best US Sports Book” (2005 and 2006), Sportsbook.com.
Now it’s even easier.
Just go to www.sportsbook.com and login using your old Paradise user name ( xxx ) and password. Your account history, bet history, everything is still there.
Talk about perfect timing - We’re launching our $100,000.00 Poker Freeroll on Black Friday, November 24th. Were you planning on going shopping? Please. If you are stuck at the mall, we’ll be rolling out more cash freerolls and satellites after Thanksgiving.
And unlike the old days where you had to "earn your bonuses," we'll whack on an extra 20% when you make an E-check deposit into your account. Get 15% for credit cards, Neteller, or Western Union. It all still works at Sportsbook.com.
... | | Read Entire Entry |
|